

THE UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

Graduate Student Senate

Meeting of the Whole

September 28th, 2020

43 People in attendance

Executive Council Attendees: Avery Rasmussen, Aayudh Das, Jaspreet Nagi, Michael Hoaglund and Rosie Chapina

Attendance was taken via online participation.

Senator attendees and clubs that had a representative present can be found in Appendix 1 at the end of this document.

Minutes were recorded by Michael Hoaglund.

Meeting was called to order by Vice President Aayudh Das at 4:30pm.

Executive Board Updates:

President: Avery Rasmussen

- Constitution and Bylaws Revision
- Collaboration with the President's Commission for Inclusive Excellence (PCIE) Listening Session: Thursday, September 30th
- Identity Center Graduate Student Resource Share: October 13th
- Submit feedback re: University Place to the Campus Master Planning Committee (see email for link)

- Please share feedback from constituents on UVM's reopening protocols this fall and any proposed changes for spring
- Office of Institutional Research collaboration

Constitution and Bylaws Revision

- Article IV, Section B, Clause 2: The Executive Council will have discretion over purchases or allocations of less than \$500. For purchases exceeding \$500, a two-thirds (2/3) majority approval must be sought from the Senate.
- **Proposed Revision:** The Executive Council will have discretion over purchases or allocations of less than \$500 or less. For purchases exceeding \$500, a two-thirds (2/3) majority approval must be sought from the Senate.

The motion was approved unanimously.

Treasurer: Jaspreet Nagi

Budget Review

A motion was approved to amend the budget at a later date.

Communications Director: Rosie Chapina

- GSS Video showcasing senators and E-board
- Please submit a picture of yourself to <u>rchapina@uvm.edu</u> by October 7th
- Don't forget to follow us on social media!
- If you have any questions/comments/suggestions regarding social media let me know!

Members At Large Announcement:

GSS Clubs coordinator Acting: Aayudh Das Grads Give Back Rania Goncalves

Ad Hoc Committees:

Committees were formed and told their aims:

- Chair Election
- Goal and action plan for the academic year
- Preliminary report by chair due next senate meeting

Club Recognitions:

Renewals-

ISA- renewal approved unanimously.

Career Mobility Committee- renewal approved unanimously.

NSA- renewal approved unanimously.

Women in STEM Network- renewal approved unanimously.

Rubenstein GSA- renewal approved unanimously.

SACNAS- renewal approved unanimously.

oSTEM- renewal approved unanimously.

New Clubs:

Doctorate of Physical Therapy Club- approved unanimously.

Motion to continue meeting 5 min more was passed.

Meeting was adjourned at 5:39pm.

Appendix 1 – Senator Attendees

#	Full Name	Programs
1	Patrick Payne	Public Health
2	Mohamad Rabieh Khalifeh Khalife	Neuroscience
3	Nawar Kareem	Public Health
4	Jayita Barua	СМВ
5	Alison Hall	Biology
6	Chris Kruglik	Medical Sciences
7	Andrew Nadeau	Physical Therapy
8	Anna Ramsey	Nursing Practice
9	Colin Giles	Mathematics
10	Noah Olson	Plant and Soil Science
11	Erin Mcbride	Complex Systems and Data Science
12	Suraj Bhattarai	Animal Biosciences
13	Marcus Weinman	СМВ
14	Montana Lara	Neuroscience
15	Angela Tweedy	Community Development and Applied Economics
16	Kamruzzaman Khan	Civil and Environmental Engineering
17	Anniey Michelson	Nursing Practice
18	Ekraj Dahal	Material Science
19	Ashma Chakrawarti	Animal Biosciences
20	Jimmy Huynh	Higher Education and Student Affairs
		Administration
21	Melina Harris	Sustainable Innovation MBA
22	Collin Mitchell	Accountancy
23	Paige Vaccaro	Nutrition and Food Science
24	Vooha Putalapattu	Medical Sciences
25	Atoosa Parsa	Complex Systems and Data Science
26	Maggie Phillips	Medical Sciences
27	Anna Lam	Classics
28	Avery Peck	Chemistry
29	Baxter Worthing	Plant Biology
30	Ryan Raichelson	Sustainable Innovation MBA
31	Jane Wolforth	Physical Therapy
32	Віјау К С	Civil and Environmental Engineering
33	Holly Paige Chaos	Mathematics

Clubs with a representative present: ISA, CMC, NSA, Women in STEM, RGSA, SACNAS, oSTEM, DPT Club