

THE UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

Graduate Student Senate

Meeting of the Whole

October 2nd, 2019

38 People in Attendance

Executive Council Attendees: Jessica Bocanegra, Avery Rasmussen, Berke Tinaz, Aayudh Das, Kevin Fischer

Senator Attendees: Suraj Bhattari, Miriam Snider, Jaspreet Nagi, Gepy Bernstein, Roberta Molokandov, Bob Worley, Lindsay Worley, Bijac KC, Bishwash Trakuri, Brandon Ackley, Marcus Weinman, Scott Vanson, Trevor Wolf, Ibne Farabi Shibab, Andy Klem,Nick Adler, Nawaf Nazir, Fonda Heenehan, Mathieu Bergeron, Ceres Rafiq, Mahafuza Aktar, Erin Cullen, Rosy Neale, Kirtika Chatri, Molly Hurd, Baxter Worthing, Sandra Nnadi, Amelia Trello, Rosie Chapina, Maeve McDermott

Representative Attendees: Ekraj Dahal, Kristin Ramb, Humon Heidarian

Minutes were recorded by Berke Tinaz.

Attendance was taken via sign-in sheet.

Meeting was called to order by Vice President Avery Rasmussen at 10:05 am.

Previous meeting minutes were approved unanimously as electronically distributed.

Executive Board Updates

President: Jessica Bocanegra

Introduction of the Occasional Use Parking Pass Program

- Graduate students can purchase a daily parking pass for \$2 max 6 times per semester,
- It will well for students who maybe have to stay late to proctor exams or fulfill other TA duties throughout the year.
- Some logistical details are still being worked out by the UVM TPS.

Vice President: Avery Rasmussen

Introduction of the members at large.

- Erin Cullen Member-At-Large Clubs and Reservations Coordinator
- Michell DiPinto Member-At-Large Grads Give Back Coordinator

Senate meetings have openings if the senators are interested in inviting administrators.

Senator's retreat recap. Action committees were formed;

- Parking and Transportation Committee
- Compensation and Benefits Committee
- Assistantship Support Committee
- Student Mental Health Promotion Committee
- Diversity, Inclusion and Equity Committee
- Graduate Student Life Committee
- Student Workers' Engagement Committee
- Housing Committee

Secretary: Berke Tinaz

New website.

New logo.

Treasurer Aayudh Das

Gave the overview of the 2019-2020 budget.

Budget was approved unanimously.

Club Recognitions

Renewals

ISA – renewal approved unanimously.

NSA – renewal approved unanimously.

MRS – Concerns about overspending and unplanned budget which has occurred in the previous years were raised. Rrenewal was tabled with 11 For, 10 Against and 3 abstentions with the motion "table the renewal until a better aligned budget is presented."

RGSA - renewal approved unanimously.

IRSA – renewal approved unanimously

Women in STEM – renewal approved unanimously

New Clubs

Career Mobility Committee (CMC) – approved unanimously.

Graduate Nursing Association (GNA) – approved unanimously.

Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics @ Vermont (oSTEM @ Vermont) – approved unanimously.

English Graduate Student Association (EGSA) – approved with more than two thirds majority.

Bishwash – Dashain night update.

Dashain Night

Overview was given by Bishwash Thakuri. October 11th, 2019. Ticket available at the UVM bookstore or through ticket.uvm.edu

Meeting adjourned at 11:20am.